Header Ads Widget



UAE to suspend Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania, Ethiopia flights from December 25

The country’s National Emergency Crisis and Disasters Emergency Management Authority and the General Civil Aviation Authority (GCAA) made the announcement on Thursday, December 23.

The GCAA noted that the suspension became imperative following the emergence of the new COVID variant, Omicron, which continues to spread like wildfire.  

Nigeria on Tuesday recorded 2,123 fresh cases of COVID-19 , (the highest in a long time) as announced by the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control (NCDC).

In order to protect its citizens, the UAE will be banning all incoming flights from Nigeria, Kenya, Tanzania and Ethiopia.

However, the ban will not stop the transportation of passengers from UAE to the four selected countries.Travellers from the selected countries who go through other countries have been advised to remain in those countries for 14 days before entering the Emirates.

Nonetheless, “UAE nationals, their first degree relatives, diplomatic missions, official delegations between UAE and these countries and Golden residence holders are excluded from this decision,” the statement reads in part.

“The excluded categories should present a negative COVID-19 test obtained within 48 hours of departure and a Rapid-PCR test at the airport within six hours of departure whenever possible and another PCR test at the airport upon arrival to UAE.

“A 10-day quarantine and a PCR test on the ninth day of entering the country is required for UAE nationals, their first-degree relatives, diplomatic missions and golden residence holders,” 

This development may worsen the volatile diplomatic relations between Dubai authorities and the federal government which on Tuesday reinstated the flight approval for Emirates Airlines, as compensation for granting Air Peace multiple daily slots to fly to Dubai.

Post a Comment